Tags

,

Jem and Oboe Playing Hide and Seek

Jem and Oboe Playing Hide and Seek

“Babies only do three things,” Jet informed us, “They eat, sleep and poop.”

“And one more, I think,” my husband said, “They cry!”

“They only do four things,” Jet agreed. Oboe and Jem aren’t exactly babies anymore. They can walk and are starting to talk, but Jet hasn’t found a great deal of use for them thus far.

My husband and I volunteered to watch all three kids on Saturday afternoon so their parents could get out without them for awhile. The boys were napping when we arrived but Jet lay in the bed singing to herself. I listened to her sing for a bit before going up to see if she might be persuaded to allow sleep to come. On the way up the stairs I began to think that a nap sounded pretty nice. “Jet, could Grandma take a nap with you?”

“I don’t know… there’s not much room in this bed…”

Papa and Oboe Counting

Papa and Oboe Counting

“Let’s try.” Jet agreed so I snuggled in next to her. She put her back up against my stomach and my arm encircled her chest. We both passed into sleep within minutes. The next thing I heard was the sound of Jem waking up in the next room.

When I opened the door, Jem chortled a greeting, waking Oboe in the next bed. “Well, let’s get some diapers for you two!” I looked around. “Where are your diapers?”

“We don’t keep them up here anymore Grandma! They are all downstairs!”

“Thanks, Jet, thank goodness I have you to help me!”

Oboe reached into his bed and pulled out his blanket and immediately handed it to Jem who accepted it happily. We proceeded to the stairs to find Papa who scooped up Jem and carried him down. Oboe wanted to walk. “Can he go down the stairs, Jet?”

“Yes, he can do it if he goes backward.”

Seeking

Seeking

I turned Oboe around and instructed him to come down backward. One step later, he turned around again. “Oboe! You have to do it this way! Turn around!” Oboe answered with a devilish grin that told me we were not getting down the stairs any time soon. Several minutes later Oboe finally reached the first floor with an impish grin still plastered on his face. I’m trying not to think about what this means for the future.

Jet wanted to play hide and seek. They boys have reached the age where they want to do whatever someone else is doing, so we all more or less began to play. I was able to snap a photo of grandson mimicking his Papa as he turned to the wall to count.

We pretended not to see Jet “hiding” in plain view as long as possible, but when her brothers saw her sitting under furniture, they immediately crawled in next to her. Each time it happened we’d exclaim, “he found you!” What else could we do? Then Papa would count again.

And, so it happened that we all had a marvelous time for different reasons: Jet believed her brothers were actually playing hide and seek; Jem and Oboe enjoyed a toddler version of Simon Says with big people; and my husband and I delighted in the laughing faces of our grandchildren!

Jet is Found

Jet is Found

