Tags

, ,

I love you, Mom

I love you, Mom

Jet and I went to the library to get some new books. The children’s room usually offers a table with crayons and a sheet to copy. This time, a sign on the table read, “Make a card for your mother and give it to the librarian and you may choose a book for your mother from the library sale.” What a fantastic idea! Jet went right to work and had soon earned her mom a book.

The sale books were centered at adult eye level — too high for Jet to reach most of them, but she quickly pulled down a book on car repair. “This one!”

“That’s a nice looking book, Jet, but it’s about fixing cars. I think we should look for something else. Let’s keep looking.”

“Here’s a book, Grandma, it has a princess on it!” Jet hollered as she pulled off a torrid romance novel at the exact moment I spotted something in the sci-fi genre.

I Love You To Pieces

I Love You To Pieces

“Shhh – don’t forget to be quiet in the library! That’s a pretty book, all right, but look, here’s one that’s really big! Which one do you want?”

Jet wavered. Her hand went back and forth between the big book and the princess. Bigger won. “I want to wrap it all by myself.”

“Okay. Let’s take it home.”

Jet remembered a great deal about wrapping presents. She needed no prompting to take the roll of paper and lay it on the carpet. She pulled out a length of it and brandished her scissors. “I’m going to cut this all by myself!”

“Okay, but you need a bit more than that.” I showed her where to cut. Her scissors ran through the paper like butter!

Cutting the Paper

Cutting the Paper

“Get the tape, Grandma!” I rushed to get the tape and held the paper in place for her as she directed. When I let go the paper fell back to the floor. “It didn’t work!”

“The tape has to touch both sides of the paper, remember? It’s okay, just put on another piece and you can do the ends.” Jet remembered how I folded in the sides first at the ends and did a very credible job of duplicating my style.

“Ribbon! We need ribbon!” I got the ribbon. “I’ll cut it Grandma, but you tie it on for me, okay?”

“Sure thing, sweetness.” At least she still needs me for something!

Adding Tape

Adding Tape

 

