Tags

, , ,

Two Prunes and a Fork

Two Prunes and a Fork

As far as Jet is concerned, the more order and routine, the better. She watches me like a hawk as I prepare her breakfast. She makes sure she gets one large or two mini dried prunes each morning. The prunes may be dried, but they retain enough moisture to be sticky. Initially, Jet expressed resistance to eating the prunes, even though she found them delicious because she refuses to endure either sticky hands or a sticky tray. The solution: she eats her prunes from a paper towel…with a fork!

“You forgot to put that away, Grandma!” she says if I try to eat my breakfast before attending to the cereal box. “Put some of your cereal right here,” she directs, pointing to a spot on her tray. “Take my fork away, please, I’m done!”

Avoiding the Spray

Avoiding the Spray

As much as Jet loves being clean and taking baths, however, she loathes getting her clothing or even her swimsuit wet. I struggled all summer to convince her to run through the spray or sit down in the pool. A major break through occurred when I taught her she could sneak up behind the water to fill her buckets and bottles. She tolerated the water on her arms, but she didn’t want it anywhere else. Sometimes I’d turn around to find her naked and her suit draped over the toy hamper to dry.

One hot day, I put on my own suit and demonstrated the joys of running through a sprinkler with wild abandon. “C’mon, Jet! It’s fun! You can hold my hand!” She took my hand and followed me through the spray. “You have to shout WHEEEeeee,” I told her.

The Wet Suit

The Wet Suit

“We shouted and laughed until both our suits were soaked. “Wasn’t that FUN?” I panted.

Jet looked me up and down. “We’d better go inside and take off these wet clothes!”

