Tags

, ,

Jet and Santa

Jet and Santa

My plan was to introduce Jet to Santa slowly and carefully… but things don’t always work out as planned!

Jet ate a nice lunch that included red and green Pepperidge Farm goldfish. Somehow they tasted better to her than the plain yellow ones. She started playing with some older girls and talked them into joining her in a couple of rounds of “Ring Around the Rosie.” One of the girls suggested they move to the craft table to color. Jet trotted happily behind.

Suddenly, someone shrieked with happiness. Santa had arrived — but Jet and I were on opposite sides of the room. I lost sight of her as I moved in her direction – and with good reason. I found her under the table. As I lifted the edge of the tablecloth I saw that she had her knees held tightly to her chest. She lifted her head to look at me. “I’m scared Grandma!”

“Do you want me to hold you?”

“Yes.”

She came out slowly and sat on my lap while other children took turns sitting with Santa. Each one received a present.

“Do you want a present from Santa?”

“Yes,” she nodded.

“I’m afraid you’ll have to go over there to get it.”

“I’m scared.” She sounded like no present would be worth it.

“Would you like Grandma to hold you while we go over there?

“Yes, please!”

Papa took a video of the two of us meeting Santa. He gave Jet a coloring book and crayons to take home.

“You have white hair,” she told him. “Grandma has white hair. You have a fuzzy face, too!” Santa agreed with all she had to say.

“What would you like for Christmas?” he asked.

“Christmas!” she repeated.

“Do you like dolls?”

“Babies. I like babies.”

“Oh, that’s RIGHT, Santa said. You’re going to get two babies at your house very soon, aren’t you?!”

Jet nodded enthusiastically. “Two babies!”

She decided she might like to sit with cousin Anthony’s while he served as Santa’s helper. A younger child scrunched up his face and let out a wail when it was his turn to be presented to Santa.

Jet looked at me. “He’s crying.”

“Yes, he’s just a baby, he’ll be okay.”

Soon, it was time for Santa to leave. “Goodbye, goodbye!” the other children shouted. Jet ran up and offered a hug, but Grandma’s camera was no longer in her hand.

“I got a book!” she told him. “Want to read it?”

"I have a book... Want to read it?"

“I have a book…Want to read it?”

