Tags

,

Looking at a page from The Seven Chinese Sisters, written by Kathy Tucker, Illustrated by Grace Lin. Albert Whitman & Co., c 2003.

Looking at a page from The Seven Chinese Sisters, written by Kathy Tucker, Illustrated by Grace Lin. Albert Whitman & Co., c 2003.

“Look, Grandma, she’s having a meal just like Jet!”

I couldn’t imagine why my granddaughter was so excited to see a drawing of a little girl eating — until I realized that it wasn’t the picture but the word. The girl in the library book was eating a meal. To Jet, “meal” is shorthand for oatmeal. Jet loves her morning oatmeal. She has it mixed with a little yogurt each morning she spends with me. Last week, Kroger’s was out of plain oatmeal and I had none left at home, so I bought a banana-flavored variety.

“What’sThisIDon’tLIKEit!” Jet informed me at the first bite of the cereal. Jet is the sort of child who finds something she likes and sticks with it. She likes her daily walk right after breakfast. She prefers a well-orchestrated naptime routine, including exactly two stories and two kisses. She wants to be removed from her crib on the side, never the end. When the red light is lit on the dishwasher she enjoys using the stepstool to put away the silverware. She loves that I keep her lunchtime dish in a drawer she can reach herself.

Putting Away the Silverware

Putting Away the Silverware

I understand completely. If I really enjoy a movie, I can watch it again and again. When I find a comfortable shirt, I buy two. I don’t need variety in my breakfast cereal either. I like Cheerios best and Jet likes oatmeal. It’s not that we don’t like change. We aren’t afraid to try something new. It’s just that when your heart is set on plain oatmeal you don’t like to find it mixed with banana!

Happily, plain oatmeal was back in stock this week so Jet can get back to her regular routine tomorrow. The weatherman predicts sun for our morning walk, too. We like sun!

